Nicola Brady Studio Blog

Rickitinic Productions

Illustration Friday – Yield

“Hung be the heavens with black, yield day to night!”

– It’s Shakespeare, init.

14 comments on “Illustration Friday – Yield

  1. deer prudence
    March 14, 2012

    Something is going on here … some silent tension. Great drawing ( and I like the monty-pythony perspective of the roof!)

  2. Rebecca Warren
    March 14, 2012

    Love it. Really moody with some excellent Gorey influence perhaps? Ah, and I just saw the racoon, cat, and snake hiding in the grass. Lovely creatures of the night…nice.

    • Nicola Brady
      March 22, 2012

      Haha, I really enjoy people searching out the details in my drawings – thanks for taking the time! (: Yep definitly influenced by Edward Gorey! I love his illustrations!

  3. Laura Kay
    March 14, 2012

    this looks like a creepy story illo, that makes me want to know the entire story.

    • Nicola Brady
      March 22, 2012

      Yep it is a bit creepy! Maybe the black black sky? (:

  4. Melissa Mackie
    March 14, 2012

    This is wonderful. I like your technique.

    • Nicola Brady
      March 22, 2012

      Thanks for your comment Melissa! I just checked out your great blog! I love the graphic art style you use – nice soft colours!

  5. Cindy D
    March 14, 2012

    Wow! What a really cool observatory. Spectacular assortment of patterns. I agree it looks a bit scary, maybe because it’s so dark outside and the nocturnal creatures are out.

    • Nicola Brady
      March 22, 2012

      Hi Cindy (: Thanks – I love old scientific instruments – especially big old telescopes!

  6. theodraws
    March 14, 2012

    Great work here…bravo!

  7. Kate*
    March 15, 2012

    I like this style, black ‘n white, detailed..nice!

    • Nicola Brady
      March 22, 2012

      Thanks Kate, I really like your bold colour in your bee illustrations – I keep thinking about adding colour but really enjoy working with black ink!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in Black & white, Illustration Friday and tagged , , , , , , .
